The First Day…

Something tells me that this blog should start with the sun rising into a canyon splashing hues of red and orange against a deep blue veil. With fog rising from the deep slow whirling pools of a sylvan stream, heated on it’s course to the sky by fledgling rays of the morning sun. The calm and quiet accented only by the morning dew clinging to blades of long meadow grasses before it seeps into the soil releasing its treasure of life. This utopian fantasy world happens everyday somewhere on this planet. When people find themselves in this situation they usually state, “words can’t describe” or in the case of some, it more than likely resembles some sort of gasping seizure.

Yes, like that and that is not me or my video. Being a fly fisherman that finds himself deep in the mountains at most times, these mornings come often, and even more often they go unnoticed. Truth be told, you couldn’t sleep the night before because some monstrous undocumented creature was feeding right behind your tent, or you put your tent on the most awkward rocks that stab you in the back, or some other reason (those being the most common for me). When you finally wake up, you can’t really see, or you woke up a bit late, or you forget about looking around and go directly to the fish, foregoing the main staples for morning functionality. Oh yes, I did forget to mention that it is almost impossible to motivate yourself to emerge from the cocoon that is the sleeping bag. I figure male humans comfortably “hatch” at temps ranging from 30°-60°F (in extreme cases as low as 15°F) with the female of the species slightly higher at 45°-70°F (there are exceptions to this and females show a wider extreme temperature variance from 20°-85°F). Heat sources and ares of spawning play a major role in the cycle of humanity as well and there are documented cases of a “hatched” male creating a heat source to assist in the “hatching” female and vice versa or other males or females etc..

My goal for this blog is to provide to the reader random facts that may or may not help you understand your prey when fishing and to further fuel the passion. Is prey too strong a word? Also, the reader will find cool recipes and survival tips and tricks for those days that you forget a necessity like water. In short, I’m the guinea pig that you can stand back and watch from a distance. Yes, I do make mistakes. No, I’m not the poster boy for how fly fishing looks like a fluid art. Yes, I sometimes catch trophy fish. No, I won’t boast about it (too much). I WILL NOT HESITATE to give you the what and where about New Mexico streams. I only keep 3 secret spots due to the endangered or threatened status of the fish and even I only visit those places once a year. This blog is also so that I can attempt to have a normal conversation that does not revolve around fishing by getting it all out here rather than a random unsuspecting victim. I hope future posts will entertain and assist in how random the field can be.

Lesson 1: Always be prepared to fall, even from a standing position.

4 responses to “The First Day…

  • Nathaniel Goodrich

    Ok. First off that was the most disturbing video I have ever seen. Ever.
    2nd. He says that the full on double rainbow is in his front yard. There is also tent in the front yard.
    3rd. At 0:30 I swore he was going to add “I’m king of the world.”
    4th. He kept repeating “what does it mean!” well, two things really, one, you are friggin rich because there are 2 pots of gold now, and at $1,400 an ounce you can now move out of your tent (im basing his gross totals off the standard size leprechaun pot). However, the double rainbow can also mean that the ray of sunlight bounces twice off the back interior surface of the raindrop before re-emerging into the air. The second reflection inverts the order of the colors – the secondary violet band forms at 54 degrees, the red band at 50.5 degrees – so the secondary rainbow appears above the primary one, with red on the inner edge and violet on the outer. Because the twice-reflected light has had two chances to be transmitted out the back of the raindrop rather than reflected back toward the observer, the secondary bow is much fainter than the primary and frequently cannot be seen at all; it’s typical for a secondary rainbow to be visible only at certain points along the arc.

    By the way, I know Daves 3 secret spots!
    Tingley Beach south pond
    Sandia catch and release
    Tingly Beach the middle-ish pond
    jk

    • backcountryfishnerd

      Nate, refraction, reflection, and polarization of light will be a completely different subject matter on this blog. In time, I’ll write fully about it. I can tell that you are trying to push me to the full extent of my nerdiness, but I don’t want to frighten potential readers just yet, let’s ease into that later. As far as the secret spots go… you missed the “sand wand”. Notice that I gave it a secret name to protect it? When I think of remote places, Tingley is the first that comes to mind. Thanks for the post and I hope that you make it a habit.

  • Alix

    I too found that video quit disturbing. I have a sneaky suspicion the “cryer” is **** out of luck for getting any pot(s) of gold due to the frightening nature of the excessive weeping. Leprechauns are not exactly patient individuals and are easily offended by people who sound (at one point during the video) that they are having hypothetical sex with the rainbow, which is also considered to be the leprechaun’s office. The rainbow was beautiful but the video lasted WAY longer than it needed to.

    😉

Leave a Reply

