Life and the River

The plan always begins at work. A small match lit in a cavern. The walls of which reflect vague ideas and a smattering of light for my planned day off. Throughout the course of the day, the flame of the match grew brighter, or my eyes grew accustomed to the low light to see a perceivable future. The path lead deeper into the mind’s eye and distanced itself from what I was doing with my hands. My automated flesh body acted and reacted from memory as if it were reciting Shakespearian quotation, while deep within the abyss of the mind, I was on the water. Relaxed and retreated from the hectic world that is life. I was already gone while the tiny part of the brain worked in form and function, and social small talk. Chaos and the unknown ruled. New water awaited.

Winter really has it’s downs for fishing. The cold, slow fishing, freezing guides, frozen water, busy tailwater, snow, and tiny bugs are just a small portion of winter woes. (Feel free to add to that list) With all of that being said, there is one major perk. A hotel room. Hot shower? Check. Flat screen TV? Check. Delivered pizza? Check. Ultra cozy King-Sized bed? Über check.

I didn’t remember waking up or getting lost in town, but I remember my first look at the water. It didn’t look promising. The 30mph wind ripped over the dam and through the handful of trees that spotted the riverbanks. The wind made it very difficult to cast upstream, but the fishing proved to be right on the money. 

The wind blew into the core of me as I cast into it. My love for fishing pushed back by it, forcing me to get too close to my quarry to be comfortable. When the sound of the wind calmed, the eerie silence crept in. The trees popped and snapped as they swayed as the river grew louder. The sound was calming. You could almost hear the insects footfalls on paper-like bark that wrapped the willows. Small pieces of dirt fell into the water as I walked the bank in search of the perfect stretch of water. In no time I realized that I was there and that the analogy of life and the river was realized.

3 responses to “Life and the River

Leave a Reply

